Looking For The Best Cheap Fuzz Pedal? Look Here!

When you are looking for a great flanger effect, I like to recommend analog or at least something that sounds as analog as possible. We took a look at a bunch of different pedals and came up with these awesome analog flangers available. Take a look!

1. Tomsline ATR-3 Twister Analog Flanger Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B01447KMSE” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41HDmoAL5kL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”80″]

The Tomsline ATR-3 Twister is an analog flanger pedal with two different sound modes of “freeze” and “normal.” It has a good range of speed control and is easy to transport to multiple gigs. The Twister is a quite responsive and dynamic pedal that can be used for a variety of genres, such as hard rock, blues, and many others.

Compared to some other guitar pedals, the Tomsline ATR-3 Twister offers more effective solutions to different guitar sounds. One of its best features is its overdrive function, which has a low-to-medium kick that adds extra power to lead guitar parts. It also has just the right trace of grit that enhances any power chord. The pedal comes with a good number of overdrive settings that easily adjust with just a turn of the dial.

Along with the gritty tone of some overdrive settings, the Twister is versatile enough to give a clean sound to any style of music. It has a rhythm guitar channel that’s exceptionally dynamic and responsive. The pedal’s gain setting has a wider range than some comparable guitar pedals, and its reverb setting also has a clean, pleasing sound when used in the right songs. Its delay channel is responsive, and this is especially helpful when jamming or writing original songs. The Twister is reasonably priced and available from several different online sellers. Some music stores selling a lot of electric guitar supplies also carry the Twister, and it’s recommended to give it a try.

amazonbutton

2. Mooer Eleclady Classic Analog Flanger

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B008TNAHD0″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41gpnB4gGL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

I have been using pedals manufactured by Mooer for quite some time, and I can say they have earned their spot in the mainstream market. Though it is well-known that Mooer pedals are clones of classic circuits, the truth remains that justice has been done to them making the pedals worth checking out and trying. I recently tried the Mooer Eleclady, Classic Analog Flanger and here is what I can say about it.

The Mooer Eleclady is designed on a similar design to that of a classic Electro-Harmonix. This pedal has been well-designed and looks great aesthetically. It has a toggle to switch between filter and flanger matrix modes, a standard control for Rate, as well as mini pots for Color and Range. This pedal runs off a Boss-style 9V adapter, has a true bypass switch, and a status LED.

When talking about the best sounding Mooer modulation effects, I would say the Eleclady takes the title. This pedal produces a warm chorus effect at moderate settings and a metallic flanging effect with the Color and Rate settings. I noticed that the Eleclady is not best suited for pairing with a distorted signal. Therefore, it is best that you pair it with a clean signal for the best sound. However, this does not mean that you should avoid distorted signals altogether. When paired well with a dirty tone, this pedal can produce jet flanging effects as well as some nice swooshes.

This pedal is also packed with other awesome features that you would find in the Electric Mistress. Therefore, because of its great quality of sound and thoughtful design, I would highly recommend the Mooer Eleclady, Classic Analog Flanger to you.

amazonbutton

3. Maxon 9-Series Analog Flanger

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B000ANKDCW” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51t11PrvdwL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”126″]

Maxon is a brand known for producing some of the finest pedals available today. I have been fortunate enough to try most of them and I can say that they are pedals to adore. Among their finest pedals are the nine series. I recently used the Maxon 9-Series Analog Flanger and here is my review.

The Maxon 9-Series Flanger features a well-built analog circuit and produces less noise, something that results in better dynamics, higher resolution, greater transparency, and more detail. This pedal also has a hardwire bypass that is designed to preserve the unaffected signal’s integrity. Its overall quality is good also. The 9-Series Flanger pedal has a 9-volt DC input that works with Boss-type adaptors, a hearty die-cast zinc case, ultra-bright LED that dims when battery replacement is needed, and smooth pots. Replacing the battery is also easy as the battery compartment has been designed to snap open and shut without the need of using tools.

The controls of this pedal are symmetrically placed. This makes them easy to access. These controls are Delay Time, Width, Regeneration, and Speed. I used this pedal with a variety of rigs. Some of these rigs were clean while others distorted and I can say I loved how the Maxon Flanger fared on. The quality of the tone produced was good, something you could only expect with high-dollar flangers. The Maxon 9-Series produced perfectly defined and unaltered sound without the faint, telltale ticking heard on other flangers.

Truth be told, I have tried a number of flangers, and none impressed me the way the Maxon 9-Series Analog Flanger did. Therefore, I would highly recommend it to any guitar player.

amazonbutton
When you are looking for a great flanger effect, I like to recommend analog or at least something that sounds as analog as possible. We took a look at a bunch of different pedals and came up with these awesome analog flangers available. Take a look!

1. Tomsline ATR-3 Twister Analog Flanger Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B01447KMSE” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41HDmoAL5kL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”80″]

The Tomsline ATR-3 Twister is an analog flanger pedal with two different sound modes of “freeze” and “normal.” It has a good range of speed control and is easy to transport to multiple gigs. The Twister is a quite responsive and dynamic pedal that can be used for a variety of genres, such as hard rock, blues, and many others.

Compared to some other guitar pedals, the Tomsline ATR-3 Twister offers more effective solutions to different guitar sounds. One of its best features is its overdrive function, which has a low-to-medium kick that adds extra power to lead guitar parts. It also has just the right trace of grit that enhances any power chord. The pedal comes with a good number of overdrive settings that easily adjust with just a turn of the dial.

Along with the gritty tone of some overdrive settings, the Twister is versatile enough to give a clean sound to any style of music. It has a rhythm guitar channel that’s exceptionally dynamic and responsive. The pedal’s gain setting has a wider range than some comparable guitar pedals, and its reverb setting also has a clean, pleasing sound when used in the right songs. Its delay channel is responsive, and this is especially helpful when jamming or writing original songs. The Twister is reasonably priced and available from several different online sellers. Some music stores selling a lot of electric guitar supplies also carry the Twister, and it’s recommended to give it a try.

amazonbutton

2. Mooer Eleclady Classic Analog Flanger

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B008TNAHD0″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41gpnB4gGL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

I have been using pedals manufactured by Mooer for quite some time, and I can say they have earned their spot in the mainstream market. Though it is well-known that Mooer pedals are clones of classic circuits, the truth remains that justice has been done to them making the pedals worth checking out and trying. I recently tried the Mooer Eleclady, Classic Analog Flanger and here is what I can say about it.

The Mooer Eleclady is designed on a similar design to that of a classic Electro-Harmonix. This pedal has been well-designed and looks great aesthetically. It has a toggle to switch between filter and flanger matrix modes, a standard control for Rate, as well as mini pots for Color and Range. This pedal runs off a Boss-style 9V adapter, has a true bypass switch, and a status LED.

When talking about the best sounding Mooer modulation effects, I would say the Eleclady takes the title. This pedal produces a warm chorus effect at moderate settings and a metallic flanging effect with the Color and Rate settings. I noticed that the Eleclady is not best suited for pairing with a distorted signal. Therefore, it is best that you pair it with a clean signal for the best sound. However, this does not mean that you should avoid distorted signals altogether. When paired well with a dirty tone, this pedal can produce jet flanging effects as well as some nice swooshes.

This pedal is also packed with other awesome features that you would find in the Electric Mistress. Therefore, because of its great quality of sound and thoughtful design, I would highly recommend the Mooer Eleclady, Classic Analog Flanger to you.

amazonbutton

3. Maxon 9-Series Analog Flanger

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B000ANKDCW” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51t11PrvdwL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”126″]

Maxon is a brand known for producing some of the finest pedals available today. I have been fortunate enough to try most of them and I can say that they are pedals to adore. Among their finest pedals are the nine series. I recently used the Maxon 9-Series Analog Flanger and here is my review.

The Maxon 9-Series Flanger features a well-built analog circuit and produces less noise, something that results in better dynamics, higher resolution, greater transparency, and more detail. This pedal also has a hardwire bypass that is designed to preserve the unaffected signal’s integrity. Its overall quality is good also. The 9-Series Flanger pedal has a 9-volt DC input that works with Boss-type adaptors, a hearty die-cast zinc case, ultra-bright LED that dims when battery replacement is needed, and smooth pots. Replacing the battery is also easy as the battery compartment has been designed to snap open and shut without the need of using tools.

The controls of this pedal are symmetrically placed. This makes them easy to access. These controls are Delay Time, Width, Regeneration, and Speed. I used this pedal with a variety of rigs. Some of these rigs were clean while others distorted and I can say I loved how the Maxon Flanger fared on. The quality of the tone produced was good, something you could only expect with high-dollar flangers. The Maxon 9-Series produced perfectly defined and unaltered sound without the faint, telltale ticking heard on other flangers.

Truth be told, I have tried a number of flangers, and none impressed me the way the Maxon 9-Series Analog Flanger did. Therefore, I would highly recommend it to any guitar player.

amazonbutton
For people that have a bit of a smaller budget, there are some excellent cheap fuzz pedal options out there. We looked at a bunch of different ones and came up with the following recommendations. While they are lower cost, they still sound amazing and will make a great addition to your tone!

1. Donner Guitar Stylish Fuzz Traditional Rich

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00GMCCPR6″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41JeSJ8iaL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

The Donner Guitar Stylish Fuzz Traditional Rich Guitar is an aluminum-alloy based classic fx pedal. Due to its compact size, its often referred to as a “mini” pedal. This Donner Guitar Stylish Fuzz Traditional Rich Guitar pedal is easily portable thanks to its small size and light weight. The pedal weighs only about 240g, case included. Below, I share the features I like most.

One of the main features of this pedal that I particularly like include the variety you get through the control knobs. The pedal comes complete with three knobs — tone, level, and gain — which gives you a lot of control over the sound you get from your guitar. Although simple and straightforward, this guitar pedal, by way of these three knobs, provide a lot of control over the way the sound comes out. You can increase or decrease how much of an effect is placed on the final sound output in a similar way to a much larger, fx-rich pedal.

I also love the size of this pedal. The pedal is light, small, and compact. So much so, that judging from the looks of it, you would never guess that it offers up as much variety as it does.

The Donner Guitar Stylish Fuzz Traditional Rich guitar pedal is an inexpensive guitar pedal when compared to other amps in its class. It continues to pleasantly supersede our expectations. This little guy proves that a guitar pedal packed with special fx need not be expensive, or cumbersome.

amazonbutton

2. Behringer Super Fuzz SF300

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B000T9PE9E” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41Vzn9d0QCL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”80″]

When you hear the word cheap, the first thing that comes to your mind is poor quality and performance. As much as this is true, there are products that are really cheap but offer exceptional performance. I bought the Behringer Super Fuzz SF300 and decided to give it a try and see how it will fare. Here are some of its features and benefits.

It was designed to recreate a host of heavy fuzz tones that are similar to those of the 1960s and 1970s rock. The casing of this distortion pedal is made of plastic material, which decreases its durability and also the price significantly. It has one large on/off button, a LED status indicator, one Out jack, and one In jack.

The SF300 has four control knobs. These knobs are Bass, Treble, Gain, and Level. The Level knob adjusts the level of distortion infused into your sound, Gain adjusts the level of distortion, Treble offers you control over higher frequencies, and Bass offers you control over the lower frequencies. Also, there is a three-way Mode switch on this pedal. This switch allows you to choose between Gain Boost, Classic Fuzz (Fuzz 1), and Grunge (Fuzz 2). Each of these modes allows you to further shape your tone by giving you a different tonal foundation.

When it comes to performance, this distortion is very good for its listed price. It is easy to use and practical and its sound is versatile and powerful enough to be used for a live gig. With that said and done, the Behringer Super Fuzz SF300 is a great pedal and I would recommend it to beginners.

amazonbutton

3. Biyang Fz-10 Fuzz Star

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”157″ identifier=”B003OKXBB8″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/511a2BPy4fXL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

So, a few days back, I laid my hands on the Biyang FZ-10 Fuzz Star. And as someone who has had experience with other fuzz boxes, it will only be right if I review the FZ-10. Therefore, here are some of the benefits and features of this pedal.

It can be powered by either a Boss-type power adaptor or you can decide to use a 9V battery instead. This pedal is housed in a standard MXR-sized powder coated case.

The FZ-10 is a true bypass pedal. This makes it better when it comes to the quality of the audio being produced unlike in buffered pedals because true bypass helps the signal along the chain. This pedal is quiet when engaged thanks to its German WIMA capacitors, but gets a little bit noisy when the Gain is turned up to the maximum.

The Biyang FZ-10 Fuzz Stars has simple and well laid-out controls. The control knobs on this fuzz box are Fuzz, Tone, and Volume. Apart from the control knobs, the FZ-10 has a toggle switch that you can use to access Warm, Bright, and Normal modes. When I used the Normal mode, the resulting tone was overdriven, saturated, and with a lot of sustain; in other words, I got a Muff type of tone. The Bright mode gave me a slightly brighter and clearer tone that is great for chords, searing type of leads, and rhythm work. The warm mode, on the other hand, created a darker tone with less treble and that was quite smooth.

After using this pedal, my verdict is that it sounds sweet especially when combined with a Reverb or Overdrive pedal and for its price, it is a great pedal.

amazonbutton

4. Electro-Harmonix Satisfaction Fuzz

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00I50OQIO” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51y13yf2B9lL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”100″]

When the word satisfaction is used as a name for a product, the first conclusion I always draw is this must be one great product. A friend of mine told me about the Electro-Harmonix Satisfaction Fuzz pedal and immediately I developed the urge to try it out. After using this fuzz pedal, here is what I can say about it.

This is a two knob fuzz pedal. This pedal is built into an Electro-Harmonix diet cast enclosure that is nano-sized. This pedal’s circuit is based on the old Jordan BossTone and has two silicon NPN and PNP transistors. These transistors help in creating a signal that is clean and undisturbed. This fuzz box has two controls. These controls are Volume and Attack. The controls are also simple and easy to understand. The Attack control knob adjusts the overall amount of fuzz and the input gain. The Volume control knob, on the other hand, sets the overall output level. I loved the response of the Attack knob when adjusting the setting. The higher I adjusted the setting, the amount of fuzzy overdrive increased producing a sound that has heavier amounts of drive and fuzz. Turning down this knob gave me a raspy, heavily saturated fuzz tone.

The overall sound of the Satisfaction is fuzzy, raunchy, and bright. It does not have too much bass, it is not gated, and has decent sustain.

So with all said and done, I would conclude by saying the Electro-Harmonix Satisfaction Fuzz is more than satisfactory. You will be impressed by it too if you love the classic Sixties-era fuzz tone.

amazonbutton

4. Hotone SFL-1 Lush Analog Flanger

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B01L15ZDFY” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41rBhvsjraL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

When you’ve done your time in the music circles then you should be familiar with the flanger effect. Digitally it is easily achieved at the turn of a knob, but back in the day when it was first conceived, one had to manually vary the speed of audio to produce such a resonating effect. The Hotone SFL-1 Lush Analog Flanger is a modern modulation pedal that allows you to generate the right amount distortion without having to resort to studio presets that limit your creativity.

If it is recreating the rich and natural flanger studio effect that you seek, then this is the device for you. With the ‘add-on’ on board controls you will find yourself entering a whole new world where sound knows no borders. The DIVE button, for example, helps you to tap into negative feedback flanging, which at the same time explores different variations of surround sound as there is an underwater sound configuration as well.

During my exploratory years as a fledgling Hip Hop producer i never used to understand what depth meant, until someone tweaked a button and all of a sudden my world seemed to roll over on it’s back and capitulate to defeat. Depth matters the most when it comes to certain sounds, like bass and delay, and as i would learn the hard way, with the flanger as well.

Other features to look out for include the True Bypass Footswitch and the Main light-up knob that adjusts overall chorus effect level.

amazonbutton

4. Hotone SFL-1 Lush Analog Flanger

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B01L15ZDFY” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41rBhvsjraL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

When you’ve done your time in the music circles then you should be familiar with the flanger effect. Digitally it is easily achieved at the turn of a knob, but back in the day when it was first conceived, one had to manually vary the speed of audio to produce such a resonating effect. The Hotone SFL-1 Lush Analog Flanger is a modern modulation pedal that allows you to generate the right amount distortion without having to resort to studio presets that limit your creativity.

If it is recreating the rich and natural flanger studio effect that you seek, then this is the device for you. With the ‘add-on’ on board controls you will find yourself entering a whole new world where sound knows no borders. The DIVE button, for example, helps you to tap into negative feedback flanging, which at the same time explores different variations of surround sound as there is an underwater sound configuration as well.

During my exploratory years as a fledgling Hip Hop producer i never used to understand what depth meant, until someone tweaked a button and all of a sudden my world seemed to roll over on it’s back and capitulate to defeat. Depth matters the most when it comes to certain sounds, like bass and delay, and as i would learn the hard way, with the flanger as well.

Other features to look out for include the True Bypass Footswitch and the Main light-up knob that adjusts overall chorus effect level.

amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*