Looking For The Best Reverb Pedal For Acoustic Guitar?

There are some pretty interesting fuzz pedals out there. Some of these you don’t see too often so if you are looking for a unique option, these may be for you. These are also built to sound amazing!

1. Barnacle Fuzz

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”107″ identifier=”B0068PVWEO” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41nYvHcAkqL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

Recently, I had a gig and got the opportunity to use the Barnacle Fuzz Pedal. One thing I can say about this pedal is that it is a very well rounded fuzz box, it is built for simplicity, and has an awesome tone. Here are other benefits and features of this fuzz pedal.

The Barnacle Fuzz features a simple and professional looking design. This pedal has four controls and can run off a DC 9V power supply or battery. Its controls are treble, bass, fuzz, and volume. I was really impressed by the fact that you do not need to make excessive tweaks on the controls for you to achieve a perfect sound. I was also able to switch the pedal from true bypass mode to a buffered output mode. If you have long signal chains and you do not want the signal to degrade, then the buffer mode of the Barnacle pedal will be of great use to you.

I also liked this pedal’s distinctive sound, something that I am sure you will also like a lot. The equalizer presents you with plenty of tonal options that you can use without losing the pedal’s distinct tone and texture. If you love high gain, then this pedal has plenty of fuzz that you can utilize and that will not compromise the clarity of your tone, however high or low the fuzz level is. The equalizer is also well designed, which means that it is perfectly balanced and noninvasive.

The Barnacle Fuzz pedal has an overall impression of a powerful yet very simple pedal. I enjoyed playing with this pedal and I would advise you to use it too.

amazonbutton

2. Dr. No Effects Kafuzz

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B007RB1JUA” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/61ekJLk3Q7L.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

Recently, I tried out Dr. No Effects Kafuzz pedal, and I can say, this is not a typical day to day fuzz. This fuzz box is made in Europe and has silicon transistors and a high-end circuit board to yield a brighter sound and higher gain. Though it might not be top-of-the-range, this pedal is classic in both its attributes and deliverance. Here are some of its features and benefits.

The Dr. No Effects fuzz pedal is a very easy to use pedal. This pedal has only three knobs. These knobs are the Fuzz knob, the Tone knob that controls high and low end, and a volume knob that gives you the ability to adjust the volume of the output without increasing noise, something that is typical with distortion and fuzz pedals. With this pedal, even the lowest level gives you a strong fuzz right away. This pedal produces a throaty growl as the grind increases when you turn up the fuzz pot, you might even think that a bass booster has been added. This sound makes the guitar feel like it is full and in command.

I tried cranking up the amp and adjusting the tone all the way toward bass, the resulting effect was a heavy sound that I could feel pounding against my chest. The fuzz box cleaned up and cut through my tone when I turned up the treble. This, however, did not affect the warmth of the tone, something I found really impressive.

This pedal is rich in versatile sounds. Therefore, if you are looking for a fuzz box, Dr. No Effects Kafuzz is what you should go for.

amazonbutton

3. ThorpyFX Fallout Cloud Fuzz Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”118″ identifier=”B01M7TOLKN” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41EnZLYdlFL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

Over the years, I have had the chance to test and review a number of fuzz pedals. For this reason, it has become quite tough to impress me these days. The reason being there is only so much that can be done on the circuit to make it offer something new and exciting. I recently tried and tested the ThorpyFX Fallout Cloud Fuzz Pedal, and here is my review.

The Fallout Cloud might be similar to other established classic fuzz pedals, but it has some very useful features that set it a step apart from the other pedals. This pedal has easy to use, but very powerful controls. The Fallout Cloud has only four control knobs. It is built in a laser-etched stainless steel enclosure that does not only provide rigidity and strength but also improves the pedal’s aesthetics. Also, the pedal has side guards that are designed to protect your current control knob settings from being accidentally re-aligned either on stage as you are playing or in your gig bag. The control on this fuzz box are sustain, treble, bass, and volume.

Unlike other fuzz and distortion pedals that usually produce a muddy tone, the Fallout Cloud does not. This has been made possible by granting greater control over equalizer. What this means is that you get to control how much treble detail and grinding edge you want to add to your tone. Also, its components are of audiophile grade, which simply means that they add some clarity and harmonic detail to your tone, especially when playing in settings that are extreme.

The little differences that set apart the ThorpyFX Fallout Cloud Fuzz Pedal from other classic fuzz pedals are what impressed me the most. Therefore, I would highly recommend it.

amazonbutton

4. IdiotBox Lazer Fuzz Effect Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B010E6I2KO” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51DE1niOWAL.SL160-1.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

As a guitarist and someone who has had the chance to play using different fuzz pedals, there is only so much that you can say about this equipment. It takes exceptional performance by a pedal for you to acknowledge it and want to use it again and again. At the last gig I performed, I used the IdiotBox Lazer Fuzz Effect Pedal, and here is what I can say about this fuzz.

The IdiotBox is a unique fuzz. Among the things that impressed me a lot about this pedal is the note decay that is really sputtery and almost reverbish, and its very interesting sounds. This pedal has one 3-position switch and a knob located on its top side and an internal trimmer that is used to control volume. The volume changes a bit depending on the position of the knob and switch. This pedal can be used to help control volume in an LS-2 when you run it in loop A.

The switch is used to change the character of the frequency and tracking of the frequency divider and the knob to control the filter’s frequency. The settings of the switch in the upper position are not so good in retaining loss, but this can be remedied by looping it with an LS-2. But when set in the bottom and middle positions, they retain the loss pretty well. This pedal can be tamed and made to sound like an octave up fuzz by rolling off the tone on the instrument.

Though I would not have it as my main and only fuzz pedal, the IdiotBox Lazer Fuzz Effect Pedal performs well and I would recommend it to you.

amazonbutton
Sure, there are a lot of different reverb pedals out there but if you want the real deal, these are the choices I would make. These options give you that real spring analog sound simply because that’s what they are – real springs!

1. Carl Martin HeadRoom Real Spring Reverb

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”90″ identifier=”B0064DPXPO” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41QjBkFbKXL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

The Carl Martin HeadRoom Real Spring Reverb amp’s true to life sound and simple to operate features makes it easily one of my favorite reverb pedals on the market today. It has everything I’m looking for in a quality, functional reverb pedal where the sound is as good as it gets and the features give you ample control. While there are lots of features that come with this amp, there are some that I particularly like. A few of the features I like best:

1. Identical control channels and control foot pedal

This reverb comes complete with two channels that allow users to control the tone and depth of the reverb. Each channel comes with tone and levels control allowing me to opt for contrasting sounds on each channel. So, for example, I can opt for a softer sound more suited to small room reverb on channel A, while going for a darker, larger room reverb on channel B.

Each reverb channel works along with the two-foot control which allows me to easily switch between the two channels. In many ways, this is like having two reverbs in one amazing amp. With the control pedal, you can opt to bypass both reverbs if you want. With so much flexibility and control, I am in total control of the sound I want to, and can create.

2. Double mounted springs and remote jacks

If on stage feedback annoys you as much as it annoys me, then you will also love this feature as much as I do. The double mounted springs on the Carl Martin HeadRoom real spring reverb amp helps to significantly reduce on stage feedback, which inadvertently allows me to perform a smoother set with a cleaner sound. Believe me when I say your audience will thank you.

The amp’s remote jack allows me to place my reverb settings either in my rack or in the back of the amp. This results in me taking my reverb settings and sound with me without crowding my pedal board.

amazonbutton

2. VanAmps Sole-Mate Soulmate Real Spring Reverb Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00KMAZI82″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51uVhhNDiL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]
I love to add just a touch of reverb to my acoustic guitar tone. However, it takes the right reverb pedal to work best with an acoustic guitar. Because of this, I looked at a bunch of different models and came up with this list of my top 2 favorites:

1. Electro-Harmonix Holy Grail Nano Reverb

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00243FPTM” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51sEMPQwQGL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”96″]

Every guitar player who knows his stuff knows that a good guitar is nothing without an equally good pedal to back it up and enhance the sound. The guitar and the pedal simply must work well together.

This is why I am usually very careful and meticulous when choosing a guitar pedal to make sure I have the best guitar experience. I constantly scour the internet for reviews and ask trusted friends for their input. I also try my hardest to keep in touch with trusted sellers because they usually give the best bargain and have usually good advice as regards my next purchase.

One of my most trusted brand is the Electro-Harmonix because they usually come up with sturdy, well-built, and well performing products that are thankfully within my budget. They do this again with their offering of the Electro-Harmonix Holy Grail Nano Reverb, a state-of-the-art pedal that has exceeded all of my benchmarks.

The Holy Grail is aptly-named because it packs all the elusive benefits of a great pedal without bludgeoning a big hole in your budget. It is highly technically-advanced but is quite accessible and easy to use even for possible first time users.

The Holy Grail offers true bypass which, although necessary, is still not offered by all others in the Holy Grace price point. It also has a super fine spring reverb as well as a polished and clear hall reverb. It has 3-way controls for spring, hall, and flerb, respectively and a knob which adjusts the amount of the effect. It is very easy to manipulate and you can have the pedal up and running, sounding good, within ten seconds of tuning. Its flanging is equipped with a spatial 3D reverb in the flerb mode which actually produces an unearthly and unusual sound, perfectly for experimentation and composition. It is loaded with a power supply of 96-DC to 200 BI to ensure you have enough power input to get through the night. It is very affordably priced, especially when you take into account the quality that it brings.

The pedal has a user design that makes it very easy to control. It does not matter whether this is your 20th pedal or your first, using the pedal for your desired electric guitar effects is very easy. It is also very light and small, making it perfect for trips and gigs outdoors.

Its outstanding spring reverb is perhaps its best feature. Most of my friends who have tried the Holy Grail have remarked on how superbly the spring reverb mode sounded. It has impressive emulation which gives off very realistic sound. Despite being a digital pedal, the makers did not neglect to put True Bypass technology which is already a necessity in guitar playing. The quality of the tone never falters and remains throughout switching.

Some people have commented, however, that despite the good spring reverb, they would have liked to hear more warmth. I say this is countered by the great flerb and flange effects which may be combined and experimented with.

The pedal measures 7.8 by 4.3 by 4.3 inches and weighs only 10.6 pounds. The design looks simple but classy, and its silver color gives of a very polished look. Electro-Harmonix is pretty much respected for building tough and durable pedals and this one is no exception. Even with continued use over a few weeks, I have not seen any sign of deterioration. Everything looks secure and tight and the metal casing is not easily scratched nor dented.

I have trued many styles such as blues, rock and some on the Electro-Harmonix Holy Grail Nano Reverb and I can attest that it is a great and all-around reverb pedal. It is as straightforward as it can get and I definitely enjoyed this purchase. The best part is it didn’t cost me a fortune to partake of a good musical experience. I’ve found the Holy Grail indeed.

amazonbutton

2. TC Electronic HOF Mini Reverb

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00FLL97MK” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/512lZGQQZQL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”89″]

If you have always sought the best reverbs in a miniature footprint then the TC Electronic HOF Mini Reverb Pedal will fit the bill. Manufactured by TC Electronic, the pedal features the brand’s signature TonePrint technology. Whilst all the stompboxes by TC Electronic has been very impressive so far, this one in particular takes the cake because it is the best one out there for reverb effects with its iconic hall reverb algorithm! Don’t be fooled by its size, this pedal houses some of the grandest reverbs around, such as spring, hall, plate, room, tile, cathedral and so on!

One of the things that I like the most about Hall of Fame Mini is its TonePrint functionality. It provides users access to customized tones and settings created by guitar legends such as Steve Morse, Paul Gilbert, Steve Vai and so on. You just need to download these settings and have them uploaded to the pedal using a smartphone or a USB cable. In terms of technology and innovation I would definitely give TC Electronic full marks since it is at the top of the game. In the past, the brand has come up with a lot of successful mini pedals such as the Ditto Looper and Poly Tune. The Hall of Fame Mini Reverb pedal is even better because it is well-made, well-finished and features the best True Bypass!

True to its name, the TC Electronic HOF Mini Reverb Pedal is indeed ‘mini’ in terms of size. This microscopic stomper is extremely small in size. In fact, it is about the same size as a Hot Wheels fire engine toy! Due to its compact size, there is no space for batteries, which is why the pedal has to be powered through an external 9 volt power supply. Due to its lightweight body, the pedal can move about the board with the slightest stomp or push, which is why it is best to have it secured with zip ties or Velcro straps when you’re playing live. Apart from the tendency to scurry around the board, I do not find any ‘con’ as far as the build of this pedal is concerned.

Whilst the original pedal featured four knobs: decay, mix, tone and character, this miniature version comes with just one knob: the wet/dry knob. Through this knob you can alternate between a wet mix and a dry one. This one-knob design makes the pedal very user-friendly and easy to operate. In other words, you won’t have to mash around different controls and create a ruckus in order to get the tone that you want! The default revert of this pedal is a pleasant, warm large hall reverb that is super clean and subtle. The pedal is best suited for the retro, ’80s stadium and Rock ‘n’ Roll vibes but it can also be tweaked to suit other music genres.

The HOF Mini is the best choice for the reverb enthusiast who is looking for a versatile pedal that would work in a variety of settings from a recording environment to a live environment such as a stage. If you want a single extra reverb for your music then this will be the ideal pick for you. Control freaks, on the other hand, should steer clear of this one because there is just one knob to work with! However, even with just one knob, the minimalist pedal manages to produce a wide range of cool effects through the TonePrint Editor. This software is the ideal tool that offers full tonal liberty to the users through a set of deep intuitive controls. Thus, irrespective of which type of classic reverb you’re interested in creating, you will be able to do it with complete ease.

All in all, the HOF Mini Reverb Pedal is indeed a hit and I would definitely recommend it to all. It is indeed a quality pedal that gets the job done without the fuss and hassles!

amazonbutton
Over the years, I have had the opportunity to try out different types of guitar pedals. Some have impressed me, while others have not. Among those that I really enjoyed playing with is the VanAmps Sole-Mate Soulmate Real Spring Reverb Pedal. This pedal can be defined as an impressive, single purpose reverb pedal. From its performance, it is clear that meticulous work went into designing and producing this pedal. Here are some features and benefits of this reverb pedal.

The VanAmps Sole-Mate is an analog spring reverb pedal. This type of reverb replaced the large plate reverb units that were popular during the time of the surf music phenomenon. The spring reverb is a first choice for many as it produces iconic sound, something that even many digital reverb pedals have replicated over the years.

I know you are now asking what this pedal can do. Well, here is the answer. The Soul-Mate uses actual metal springs to produce its reverb sound. As a result, the reverb sound it produces is exceptionally high in quality. This reverb pedals controls are simple and straightforward, therefore, very easy to use. This pedal has only two knobs. These knobs are DWELL and OUTPUT LEVEL. The DWELL knob changes the length of the reverb, and the OUTPUT LEVEL knob affects the amount of reverb to be added to your dry sound. If you want to get that really traditional surf sound, all you have to do is turn both knobs to the maximum. Turning both knobs to the other end of the scale gives you a subtle and sweet tone. I was impressed by the fact that this pedal is versatile and can be used with any guitar amplifier unlike VanAmps’ Reverbamate, which had only two outputs, something that was a limitation to someone who had amps with single inputs.

Therefore, if you like a versatile spring reverb pedal, the VanAmps Sole-Mate Soulmate Real Spring Reverb Pedal is what you should get.

amazonbutton

5. IdiotBox Ron Swanson Superfuzz Fuzz Effect Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00YQEGKX2″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51HomHuQoLL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

The IdiotBox Ron Swanson Superfuzz Fuzz Effect Pedal is a great pedal if you love a good sounding octave fuzz. It’s also a great effect if you are a fan of the show “Parks and Rec”, but that’s not nearly as important as the tonal options it gives you. The Ron Swanson Superfuzz gives players a ton of tonal options at a low price.

The IdiotBox Ron Swanson Superfuzz Fuzz Effect Pedal is a remake of a very famous octave fuzz, the Univox Super Fuzz. The design is almost exactly the same. Just like the Univox, it has two geranium diodes. This allows square wave clipping and really beefs up the mids in the fuzz tone.

There are two knobs on the unit and one toggle switch. Each is used to adjust a different parameter. The two knobs are titled “Balance” and “Expander”. Balance controls the volume of the wet signal. The Expander knob is tasked with determining the amount of fuzz in the signal. Each pot is very effective and has a huge dynamic range. It can also help your guitar get the fuzz sound you want and still cut through any mix without being too tinny.

The toggle switch determines the tone. This pedal is so cool that it started out as just a one-off experiment for the creator’s friend. He found that it was so effective that he should release it to the general public. The unit uses true bypass technology. It is powered by any standard 9V power adapter.

amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*