Our Choices For Best Overdrive/Distortion Pedal For Tube Amps

There are some pretty interesting fuzz pedals out there. Some of these you don’t see too often so if you are looking for a unique option, these may be for you. These are also built to sound amazing!

1. Barnacle Fuzz

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”107″ identifier=”B0068PVWEO” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41nYvHcAkqL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

Recently, I had a gig and got the opportunity to use the Barnacle Fuzz Pedal. One thing I can say about this pedal is that it is a very well rounded fuzz box, it is built for simplicity, and has an awesome tone. Here are other benefits and features of this fuzz pedal.

The Barnacle Fuzz features a simple and professional looking design. This pedal has four controls and can run off a DC 9V power supply or battery. Its controls are treble, bass, fuzz, and volume. I was really impressed by the fact that you do not need to make excessive tweaks on the controls for you to achieve a perfect sound. I was also able to switch the pedal from true bypass mode to a buffered output mode. If you have long signal chains and you do not want the signal to degrade, then the buffer mode of the Barnacle pedal will be of great use to you.

I also liked this pedal’s distinctive sound, something that I am sure you will also like a lot. The equalizer presents you with plenty of tonal options that you can use without losing the pedal’s distinct tone and texture. If you love high gain, then this pedal has plenty of fuzz that you can utilize and that will not compromise the clarity of your tone, however high or low the fuzz level is. The equalizer is also well designed, which means that it is perfectly balanced and noninvasive.

The Barnacle Fuzz pedal has an overall impression of a powerful yet very simple pedal. I enjoyed playing with this pedal and I would advise you to use it too.

amazonbutton

2. Dr. No Effects Kafuzz

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B007RB1JUA” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/61ekJLk3Q7L.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

Recently, I tried out Dr. No Effects Kafuzz pedal, and I can say, this is not a typical day to day fuzz. This fuzz box is made in Europe and has silicon transistors and a high-end circuit board to yield a brighter sound and higher gain. Though it might not be top-of-the-range, this pedal is classic in both its attributes and deliverance. Here are some of its features and benefits.

The Dr. No Effects fuzz pedal is a very easy to use pedal. This pedal has only three knobs. These knobs are the Fuzz knob, the Tone knob that controls high and low end, and a volume knob that gives you the ability to adjust the volume of the output without increasing noise, something that is typical with distortion and fuzz pedals. With this pedal, even the lowest level gives you a strong fuzz right away. This pedal produces a throaty growl as the grind increases when you turn up the fuzz pot, you might even think that a bass booster has been added. This sound makes the guitar feel like it is full and in command.

I tried cranking up the amp and adjusting the tone all the way toward bass, the resulting effect was a heavy sound that I could feel pounding against my chest. The fuzz box cleaned up and cut through my tone when I turned up the treble. This, however, did not affect the warmth of the tone, something I found really impressive.

This pedal is rich in versatile sounds. Therefore, if you are looking for a fuzz box, Dr. No Effects Kafuzz is what you should go for.

amazonbutton

3. ThorpyFX Fallout Cloud Fuzz Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”118″ identifier=”B01M7TOLKN” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41EnZLYdlFL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

Over the years, I have had the chance to test and review a number of fuzz pedals. For this reason, it has become quite tough to impress me these days. The reason being there is only so much that can be done on the circuit to make it offer something new and exciting. I recently tried and tested the ThorpyFX Fallout Cloud Fuzz Pedal, and here is my review.

The Fallout Cloud might be similar to other established classic fuzz pedals, but it has some very useful features that set it a step apart from the other pedals. This pedal has easy to use, but very powerful controls. The Fallout Cloud has only four control knobs. It is built in a laser-etched stainless steel enclosure that does not only provide rigidity and strength but also improves the pedal’s aesthetics. Also, the pedal has side guards that are designed to protect your current control knob settings from being accidentally re-aligned either on stage as you are playing or in your gig bag. The control on this fuzz box are sustain, treble, bass, and volume.

Unlike other fuzz and distortion pedals that usually produce a muddy tone, the Fallout Cloud does not. This has been made possible by granting greater control over equalizer. What this means is that you get to control how much treble detail and grinding edge you want to add to your tone. Also, its components are of audiophile grade, which simply means that they add some clarity and harmonic detail to your tone, especially when playing in settings that are extreme.

The little differences that set apart the ThorpyFX Fallout Cloud Fuzz Pedal from other classic fuzz pedals are what impressed me the most. Therefore, I would highly recommend it.

amazonbutton

4. IdiotBox Lazer Fuzz Effect Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B010E6I2KO” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51DE1niOWAL.SL160-1.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

As a guitarist and someone who has had the chance to play using different fuzz pedals, there is only so much that you can say about this equipment. It takes exceptional performance by a pedal for you to acknowledge it and want to use it again and again. At the last gig I performed, I used the IdiotBox Lazer Fuzz Effect Pedal, and here is what I can say about this fuzz.

The IdiotBox is a unique fuzz. Among the things that impressed me a lot about this pedal is the note decay that is really sputtery and almost reverbish, and its very interesting sounds. This pedal has one 3-position switch and a knob located on its top side and an internal trimmer that is used to control volume. The volume changes a bit depending on the position of the knob and switch. This pedal can be used to help control volume in an LS-2 when you run it in loop A.

The switch is used to change the character of the frequency and tracking of the frequency divider and the knob to control the filter’s frequency. The settings of the switch in the upper position are not so good in retaining loss, but this can be remedied by looping it with an LS-2. But when set in the bottom and middle positions, they retain the loss pretty well. This pedal can be tamed and made to sound like an octave up fuzz by rolling off the tone on the instrument.

Though I would not have it as my main and only fuzz pedal, the IdiotBox Lazer Fuzz Effect Pedal performs well and I would recommend it to you.

amazonbutton

Sure, there are a lot of different reverb pedals out there but if you want the real deal, these are the choices I would make. These options give you that real spring analog sound simply because that’s what they are – real springs!

1. Carl Martin HeadRoom Real Spring Reverb

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”90″ identifier=”B0064DPXPO” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/41QjBkFbKXL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

The Carl Martin HeadRoom Real Spring Reverb amp’s true to life sound and simple to operate features makes it easily one of my favorite reverb pedals on the market today. It has everything I’m looking for in a quality, functional reverb pedal where the sound is as good as it gets and the features give you ample control. While there are lots of features that come with this amp, there are some that I particularly like. A few of the features I like best:

1. Identical control channels and control foot pedal

This reverb comes complete with two channels that allow users to control the tone and depth of the reverb. Each channel comes with tone and levels control allowing me to opt for contrasting sounds on each channel. So, for example, I can opt for a softer sound more suited to small room reverb on channel A, while going for a darker, larger room reverb on channel B.

Each reverb channel works along with the two-foot control which allows me to easily switch between the two channels. In many ways, this is like having two reverbs in one amazing amp. With the control pedal, you can opt to bypass both reverbs if you want. With so much flexibility and control, I am in total control of the sound I want to, and can create.

2. Double mounted springs and remote jacks

If on stage feedback annoys you as much as it annoys me, then you will also love this feature as much as I do. The double mounted springs on the Carl Martin HeadRoom real spring reverb amp helps to significantly reduce on stage feedback, which inadvertently allows me to perform a smoother set with a cleaner sound. Believe me when I say your audience will thank you.

The amp’s remote jack allows me to place my reverb settings either in my rack or in the back of the amp. This results in me taking my reverb settings and sound with me without crowding my pedal board.

amazonbutton

2. VanAmps Sole-Mate Soulmate Real Spring Reverb Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00KMAZI82″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51uVhhNDiL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]
I love to add just a touch of reverb to my acoustic guitar tone. However, it takes the right reverb pedal to work best with an acoustic guitar. Because of this, I looked at a bunch of different models and came up with this list of my top 2 favorites:

1. Electro-Harmonix Holy Grail Nano Reverb

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00243FPTM” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51sEMPQwQGL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”96″]

Every guitar player who knows his stuff knows that a good guitar is nothing without an equally good pedal to back it up and enhance the sound. The guitar and the pedal simply must work well together.

This is why I am usually very careful and meticulous when choosing a guitar pedal to make sure I have the best guitar experience. I constantly scour the internet for reviews and ask trusted friends for their input. I also try my hardest to keep in touch with trusted sellers because they usually give the best bargain and have usually good advice as regards my next purchase.

One of my most trusted brand is the Electro-Harmonix because they usually come up with sturdy, well-built, and well performing products that are thankfully within my budget. They do this again with their offering of the Electro-Harmonix Holy Grail Nano Reverb, a state-of-the-art pedal that has exceeded all of my benchmarks.

The Holy Grail is aptly-named because it packs all the elusive benefits of a great pedal without bludgeoning a big hole in your budget. It is highly technically-advanced but is quite accessible and easy to use even for possible first time users.

The Holy Grail offers true bypass which, although necessary, is still not offered by all others in the Holy Grace price point. It also has a super fine spring reverb as well as a polished and clear hall reverb. It has 3-way controls for spring, hall, and flerb, respectively and a knob which adjusts the amount of the effect. It is very easy to manipulate and you can have the pedal up and running, sounding good, within ten seconds of tuning. Its flanging is equipped with a spatial 3D reverb in the flerb mode which actually produces an unearthly and unusual sound, perfectly for experimentation and composition. It is loaded with a power supply of 96-DC to 200 BI to ensure you have enough power input to get through the night. It is very affordably priced, especially when you take into account the quality that it brings.

The pedal has a user design that makes it very easy to control. It does not matter whether this is your 20th pedal or your first, using the pedal for your desired electric guitar effects is very easy. It is also very light and small, making it perfect for trips and gigs outdoors.

Its outstanding spring reverb is perhaps its best feature. Most of my friends who have tried the Holy Grail have remarked on how superbly the spring reverb mode sounded. It has impressive emulation which gives off very realistic sound. Despite being a digital pedal, the makers did not neglect to put True Bypass technology which is already a necessity in guitar playing. The quality of the tone never falters and remains throughout switching.

Some people have commented, however, that despite the good spring reverb, they would have liked to hear more warmth. I say this is countered by the great flerb and flange effects which may be combined and experimented with.

The pedal measures 7.8 by 4.3 by 4.3 inches and weighs only 10.6 pounds. The design looks simple but classy, and its silver color gives of a very polished look. Electro-Harmonix is pretty much respected for building tough and durable pedals and this one is no exception. Even with continued use over a few weeks, I have not seen any sign of deterioration. Everything looks secure and tight and the metal casing is not easily scratched nor dented.

I have trued many styles such as blues, rock and some on the Electro-Harmonix Holy Grail Nano Reverb and I can attest that it is a great and all-around reverb pedal. It is as straightforward as it can get and I definitely enjoyed this purchase. The best part is it didn’t cost me a fortune to partake of a good musical experience. I’ve found the Holy Grail indeed.

amazonbutton

2. TC Electronic HOF Mini Reverb

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00FLL97MK” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/512lZGQQZQL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”89″]

If you have always sought the best reverbs in a miniature footprint then the TC Electronic HOF Mini Reverb Pedal[/easyazMost of the time, when I am playing through a tube amp, I rely on the amps natural overdrive and distortion to create my dirty tone. But, there are times when you would want a little more versatility with a good distortion pedal. For tube amp players, here are our picks:

1. [easyazon_link identifier="B00DHIYQG6" locale="US" tag="jtspedals-20"]MXR M75 Super Badass Distortion Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00DHIYQG6″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51ubqGqc4LL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

It took me a long while to catch on the release of MXR M75 Super Badass® Distortion because it was actually rolled out quietly without much fanfare. But like all product, it is word of mouth that really gets the sale rolling and soon enough, guitarists, both pro and amateurs, started talking about how great it is, some even claiming that it was the best pedal produced in the last five years or so. Excited by these pronouncements, I wasted no time in jumping to the bandwagon and trying it out for myself. Two months later, I have to say that the product is very much worthy of the hype.

First off, the volume available in this pedal is unbelievable. While older versions of distortion pedals offer limited volume when it comes to higher gain, the unity gain this is around 11:00 to 12:00 which is ideal for playing. Once you hit 8:00 to 10:00, the pedal goes into a clean boost or a mild overdrive, starkly different from the quiet and fizzy sound produced by most distortion pedals.

The three-band EQ and knob controls make this pedal very easy to customize and control. You have the option of going full by scooping out the midrange or going aggressive by turning the mids up. My ideal for me would be somewhere between 10:00-12:00 because it manages to deliver clear sounds without being to overpowering or overbearing. It can cater to a variety and a full range of genres – whether it be moderate drive, boost, alternative, hard rock, old school metal, synth, this product can produce the sound. It shines even better when used to create the big rock sound It has very smooth distortion with very minimal to almost no noise. The product looks pretty and well-built. The metal casing especially looks classy and durable, certainly looks like it is bought for so much higher than its price point.

The Super Badass is made with a classy silver metal finish that manages to be glittered without being tacky. It has an active EQ section which probably its best feature which provides controls for bass, mid, and treble separately. The frequency ranges allow for practically any music style – rocks, blues, metal, punk and much more. It has true-bypass switching, a jack for a center negative nine-volt DC adapter 1/4 in. input and output jacks.

It weighs a clean 1 lb. and has a dimension of 4.5 in. by 6 in. by 2.8 inches. It is designed by the renowned and award-wining Custom Team of MXR and promises 100% analog distortion. It has very versatile with a highly-responsive Distortion control, covering the ultra low-gain overdrive which characterize the ’70s sounds as well as the modern metal distortion used by most rock bands in the last ten years. Every sound in between these two extremes are also covered. The controls allow for customizability. After dialing in the right amount of grunt, you can also fiddle with the Bass, Mid, and treble controls which finely tunes your sound. Like most pedals these days, it has the indispensable true bypass switching which allows for no noise between switching on and off. It is housed in a sturdy casing that the MXR manufacturers are known for. The components are durable and of high quality and the gear can withstand even the most abusive of uses. It gives you the benefit of getting a real crunchy and dirty effect but with clarity! It has a wide range of distortion which gives a lot of headroom when trying to think of new tunes for compositions.

While most distortion pedals provide only one or two sounds that stand out, the MXR M75 Super Badass® Distortion is able to deliver a whole lot more and can be used by any player of any genre. The EQ section pacts an impressive range of tones with barely any bad sound to be found. It is definitely a good investment for any guitar player and a pedal I would gladly recommend.

amazonbutton

2. Pro Co RAT2 Distortion Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B0002MSQVQ” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/512v2HWgEaL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”155″]

Looks can be deceiving — while the Pro Co RAT2 Distortion Pedal may seem like a typical pedal with its black box look but it is so much more than your average distortion pedal! With sounds ranging from an intense English stack to a mellow twin, this distortion pedal is definitely one that puts in an extra punch to the music! The glow-in-the-dark luminescent control graphics along with the LED status indicator makes the pedal very easy to use even when the lighting is low or nil. Thus, it comes in very handy in case of dark stages. With this pedal, you can achieve the fat tone you’ve always wanted, conveniently and sans hassles!

I wasn’t exactly looking for a distortion pedal when I purchased the RAT2 pedal. I was just casually browsing online and this one in particular caught my attention. The manufacturing company, i.e. Pro Co, has achieved a legendary status for their pedals owing to the high quality sounds and unique effects which they produce. Thus, I didn’t have to think twice before purchasing this one because I know that I can rely on Pro Co for a quality pedal! Everything from the typical 3-knob layout to the RAT housing enclosure to the fuzz-lize characteristic distortion effects impressed me greatly. This distortion pedal is all about making noise, which is what I love about it. With this black beauty I can achieve anything from a full-out raging fuzz distortion to a boosted overdrive!

The Pro Co RAT2 Distortion Pedal is indeed very well-designed, thereby leaving absolutely no scope for complaints. As for the design, I like the minimalistic look of the pedal. There are three knobs right at the top of the box: distortion, filter and volume. The first knob, i.e. the Distortion knob, controls the overall gain level whereas the Filter knob is used for rolling off the brittle high-end frequencies, thereby allowing the player to generate a darker tone. The Volume knob is meant for adjusting the overall volume level. There is also an On/Off LED indicator which is a nice touch because the original RAT distortion pedal didn’t come with one.

Another feature that I really like about in case of the RAT2 pedal is the battery compartment. Now, I know this may be a small feature, but it’s the little things in life that make the biggest impact, right? I like the easy-access battery compartment because I don’t need to fuss in order to change the batteries. I have literally ‘wrestled’ with pedals in the past in order to change the battery, which is why this one really impressed me! The pedal can be powered by a 9 Volt battery and a 9 VDC power adapter featuring a 1/8″ plug. Personally, I prefer using the battery because it is more convenient for me that way; besides, there are no messy wires to deal with as well!

And now to the main thing: the sound and performance of the pedal. I am sure this is your primary interest or concern when you’re reading a pedal review. When I first got this pedal, I was unsure of its performance, therefore I decided to try out a subtle start before firing up the pedal! Hence I dialed the flat and clean amp setting on this pedal before turning things up a notch. The pedal instantly jolted the sound using its ‘fat drive’ characteristic and this resulted in a crunchy rhythm tone. I was pleasantly surprised by the same because the sound produced was very vibrant. The top-end wasn’t too frizzy or hairy and the bottom-end 2was chunky and decent. The pedal also produced impressive heavy riffage and low-end grind. All in all, it is suffice to say that I was bowled over by the pedal!

The RAT2 distortion pedal still remains one of my favorite go-to distortion pedals and I don’t see myself replacing it with other distortion pedals anytime soon. I love this pedal to pieces and I’d recommend that you give it a try too. Who knows, you might fall in love with it the way I did and be just as big a fan of it as me!

amazonbutton

3. Electro-Harmonix Soul Food Distortion Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00HEQ6J0I” locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51uxOIS47tL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”100″]

One of the most frustrating experiences for anyone is to want something so bad that your life’s success depends on it and yet you can’t have it. A fantastic pedal with detailed, transparent and organic distortion tones, the Klon Centaur was every musician’s wish. However, due its high price, it was only reserved for only the affluent ones. In a determined reply to the makers of the Klon Centaur, the Electro-Harmonix Soul Food distortion pedal landed in the market.

Thanks to Electro-Harmonix, musicians can now give their best live performance without having to dig too deep in their pockets. When I compared the prices of the two pedals I realized that the cost of the Soul Food is in fact nothing compared to even a second-hand version of the Klon Centaur. Although it has all the incredible features of the latter—which made it unaffordable for struggling musicians in the first place—I would be fair to say that the Soul Food is a unique pedal in its own right.

In most cases, the technological make-up of any equipment determines its efficiency. A quick look led me to the discovery that the volume controls and the gain interaction of the Soul Food is enhanced by a TL072 op-amp and a dual-gang Gain control, a feature copied from the Centaur. In addition, I could use fuzz pedals before the Soul Food comes in my signal chain through available buffer which is easily switchable. When I switched off the buffer, the functioning of the pedal remained the same as any other.With the benefits of the Centaur’s few controls in mind, the manufacturers included gain, treble and output as control features. However, the enduring quality of Electro Harmonix’s products is evident in the rugged build of the Soul Food.

It is quite easy to use the Soul Food as a distortion pedal. The flexibility on the gain allows the use of anything. Testing it with the harder Chicago-era blue tones and the smooth vintage country, I was happy to note that it easily accommodated them both. Nevertheless, the pedal can also be perfectly used a clean boost as well.

No matter the kind of guitar or amp is used together with the Soul Food, its response in regard to frequency hardly changes. It was a hard task to point out the boosted frequency as long as I had a neutral tone control. Remember, the tone control can be used in several different ways.

While the dynamic range of most distortion pedals are limited by their compressive nature, it is not so with the Soul Food. Depending on the choice of pick attack, the pedal is certain to perfectly distort or clean up the signal. However, I had to use it with a proper tube amp. The used pick and where the strings are struck determine the frequency response which comes in various different levels.

While there are thousands of Klon Centaur imitations in the market, most of them cannot even come near to subscribing to the idea behind the creation of the famous pedal. The largest number of the musicians I’ve met or heard from has never had a chance to compare a real Centaur and its imitation. Pointing out the difference is, therefore, often a matter of guesses and hearsay.

Keep in mind that irrespective of how great a pedal is, it won’t make anyone a great player. Only many hours spent in practice to perfect the skills and techniques in guitar playing does it. After that one can comfortably spell out a judgment on a particular kind of pedal in relation to performance results.

Nevertheless, I find it hard to hide the fact the Soul Food is some of the best news for musicians, whether established or just starting. With superb build quality and excellent sound, the pedal is a great companion. In addition, every musician should be grateful to Electro-Harmonix for such stupendous equipment at such a low cost.

Also known as EHX, the company has been around for decades, producing one high quality product after another. The Electro-Harmonix Soul food distortion was largely supposed to enable musicians of low means get the benefit of some of the best pedal innovations. However, its popularity has also risen from its ease of use and unbeatable ability to shape tones to the best.

amazonbuttonon_link] will fit the bill. Manufactured by TC Electronic, the pedal features the brand’s signature TonePrint technology. Whilst all the stompboxes by TC Electronic has been very impressive so far, this one in particular takes the cake because it is the best one out there for reverb effects with its iconic hall reverb algorithm! Don’t be fooled by its size, this pedal houses some of the grandest reverbs around, such as spring, hall, plate, room, tile, cathedral and so on!

One of the things that I like the most about Hall of Fame Mini is its TonePrint functionality. It provides users access to customized tones and settings created by guitar legends such as Steve Morse, Paul Gilbert, Steve Vai and so on. You just need to download these settings and have them uploaded to the pedal using a smartphone or a USB cable. In terms of technology and innovation I would definitely give TC Electronic full marks since it is at the top of the game. In the past, the brand has come up with a lot of successful mini pedals such as the Ditto Looper and Poly Tune. The Hall of Fame Mini Reverb pedal is even better because it is well-made, well-finished and features the best True Bypass!

True to its name, the TC Electronic HOF Mini Reverb Pedal is indeed ‘mini’ in terms of size. This microscopic stomper is extremely small in size. In fact, it is about the same size as a Hot Wheels fire engine toy! Due to its compact size, there is no space for batteries, which is why the pedal has to be powered through an external 9 volt power supply. Due to its lightweight body, the pedal can move about the board with the slightest stomp or push, which is why it is best to have it secured with zip ties or Velcro straps when you’re playing live. Apart from the tendency to scurry around the board, I do not find any ‘con’ as far as the build of this pedal is concerned.

Whilst the original pedal featured four knobs: decay, mix, tone and character, this miniature version comes with just one knob: the wet/dry knob. Through this knob you can alternate between a wet mix and a dry one. This one-knob design makes the pedal very user-friendly and easy to operate. In other words, you won’t have to mash around different controls and create a ruckus in order to get the tone that you want! The default revert of this pedal is a pleasant, warm large hall reverb that is super clean and subtle. The pedal is best suited for the retro, ’80s stadium and Rock ‘n’ Roll vibes but it can also be tweaked to suit other music genres.

The HOF Mini is the best choice for the reverb enthusiast who is looking for a versatile pedal that would work in a variety of settings from a recording environment to a live environment such as a stage. If you want a single extra reverb for your music then this will be the ideal pick for you. Control freaks, on the other hand, should steer clear of this one because there is just one knob to work with! However, even with just one knob, the minimalist pedal manages to produce a wide range of cool effects through the TonePrint Editor. This software is the ideal tool that offers full tonal liberty to the users through a set of deep intuitive controls. Thus, irrespective of which type of classic reverb you’re interested in creating, you will be able to do it with complete ease.

All in all, the HOF Mini Reverb Pedal is indeed a hit and I would definitely recommend it to all. It is indeed a quality pedal that gets the job done without the fuss and hassles!

amazonbutton
Over the years, I have had the opportunity to try out different types of guitar pedals. Some have impressed me, while others have not. Among those that I really enjoyed playing with is the VanAmps Sole-Mate Soulmate Real Spring Reverb Pedal. This pedal can be defined as an impressive, single purpose reverb pedal. From its performance, it is clear that meticulous work went into designing and producing this pedal. Here are some features and benefits of this reverb pedal.

The VanAmps Sole-Mate is an analog spring reverb pedal. This type of reverb replaced the large plate reverb units that were popular during the time of the surf music phenomenon. The spring reverb is a first choice for many as it produces iconic sound, something that even many digital reverb pedals have replicated over the years.

I know you are now asking what this pedal can do. Well, here is the answer. The Soul-Mate uses actual metal springs to produce its reverb sound. As a result, the reverb sound it produces is exceptionally high in quality. This reverb pedals controls are simple and straightforward, therefore, very easy to use. This pedal has only two knobs. These knobs are DWELL and OUTPUT LEVEL. The DWELL knob changes the length of the reverb, and the OUTPUT LEVEL knob affects the amount of reverb to be added to your dry sound. If you want to get that really traditional surf sound, all you have to do is turn both knobs to the maximum. Turning both knobs to the other end of the scale gives you a subtle and sweet tone. I was impressed by the fact that this pedal is versatile and can be used with any guitar amplifier unlike VanAmps’ Reverbamate, which had only two outputs, something that was a limitation to someone who had amps with single inputs.

Therefore, if you like a versatile spring reverb pedal, the VanAmps Sole-Mate Soulmate Real Spring Reverb Pedal is what you should get.

amazonbutton

5. IdiotBox Ron Swanson Superfuzz Fuzz Effect Pedal

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”B00YQEGKX2″ locale=”US” src=”https://www.jtpedals.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/51HomHuQoLL.SL160.jpg” tag=”jtspedals-20″ width=”160″]

The IdiotBox Ron Swanson Superfuzz Fuzz Effect Pedal is a great pedal if you love a good sounding octave fuzz. It’s also a great effect if you are a fan of the show “Parks and Rec”, but that’s not nearly as important as the tonal options it gives you. The Ron Swanson Superfuzz gives players a ton of tonal options at a low price.

The IdiotBox Ron Swanson Superfuzz Fuzz Effect Pedal is a remake of a very famous octave fuzz, the Univox Super Fuzz. The design is almost exactly the same. Just like the Univox, it has two geranium diodes. This allows square wave clipping and really beefs up the mids in the fuzz tone.

There are two knobs on the unit and one toggle switch. Each is used to adjust a different parameter. The two knobs are titled “Balance” and “Expander”. Balance controls the volume of the wet signal. The Expander knob is tasked with determining the amount of fuzz in the signal. Each pot is very effective and has a huge dynamic range. It can also help your guitar get the fuzz sound you want and still cut through any mix without being too tinny.

The toggle switch determines the tone. This pedal is so cool that it started out as just a one-off experiment for the creator’s friend. He found that it was so effective that he should release it to the general public. The unit uses true bypass technology. It is powered by any standard 9V power adapter.

amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*